Wheeler Gold Glove
The Phillies had four finalists for Gold Glove Awards, but the lone winner was Zack Wheeler, Major League Baseball announced on Sunday night. 
It's the first Gold Glove for Wheeler and the first for a Phillies hurler since Steve Carlton won the award in 1981. The only other Phillies pitchers to win Gold Glove Awards are Jim Kaat (1976-77) and Bobby Shantz (1964). 
Wheeler committed only one error in 2023 and finished with +4 defensive runs saved, according to Fangraphs. The other finalists in the National League were teammate Taijuan Walker and Jesus Luzardo of the Marlins. 
Bryson Stott and J.T. Realmuto were finalists for their respective positions, Realmuto losing to Arizona's catcher Gabriel Moreno and Stott losing to Cubs second basemen Nico Horner.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post